A
Advertising Network: A group
of Web sites which share a common banner server. Typically a sales
organization which manages the commerce and reporting. An ad network
has the ability to deliver unique combinations of targeted audiences
because they serve your banner or ad across multiple sites. The
role of the modern Internet advertising network is to transact,
serve, track and report the distribution of creative from advertisers
to publishers using an efficient, interactive marketplace.
Ad server: Name for the organization,
hardware, and software that deliver advertising creative to the
user’s browser. The ad server typically is responsible for selecting
the appropriate ad to serve by frequency control and targeting.
The ad server also performs a variety of other administrative
tasks including the counting of impressions and clicks, and report
generation.
Ad Space: The space on a webpage reserved
to display advertising.
Agency: An organization beholden with
the responsibility to design, produce and manage the advertising
for its customers. Agencies that handle digital creative and online
campaigns are typical called interactive agencies. Many agencies
handle both interactive and traditional media.
Ad view: An ad view, synonymous with ad impression, is
a single ad that appears (usually in full view without scrolling)
on a Web page when the page arrives at the viewer’s display. Ad
views are what most Web sites sell or prefer to sell. A Web page
may offer space for a number of ad views. In general, the term
impression is more commonly used.
Affiliate marketing: Affiliate marketing
is the use by a Web site that sells products of other Web sites,
called affiliates, to help market the products. Amazon.com, the
book seller, created the first large-scale affiliate program and
hundreds of other companies have followed since.
B
Bandwidth: Digital throughput capacity.
A measure of how much digital signal or information can be passed
through a device or interconnect. Bandwidth is usually measured
in bits per second. A 2400 baud modem can handle 2.4 kilobits
per second. A T3 industrial interconnect can handle 45 megabits
per second. A 100 base-T ethernet interconnect can handle 100
mega-bits-per-second. Bandwidth is analogous to the size of a
water pipe.
Banner: An interactive online advertisement
in the form of a graphic image that typically runs across the
top or bottom of a webpage, or is positioned in a margin or other
space reserved for ads. Banner ads are historically GIF images.
Many ads are animated GIFs since animation has been shown to be
more effective. The standard banner is 468 pixels wide by 60 pixels
high. The standard banner is still the mainstay of online advertising,
but is quickly giving up ground to newer, potentially more effective
forms of online advertising, such as email and interstitials.
Banner Burnout: Overexposure of advertising
creative that contributes to a drop in click-through rates. Frequency
control reduces burnout for a particular creative or campaign.
Booked Space: Website advertising
space that is already sold or otherwise unavailable to receive
new campaign commitments.
Branding: A traditional advertising
method used to elicit a latent response from a target based on
cumulative impressions and positive reinforcement. The most successful
brands are considered "trustmarks" and enjoy loyal,
lifelong customers.
C
Clickstreams: The electronic path
a user takes while navigating from site to site, and within site,
from page to page.
ClickThrough: The act of clicking
on a banner or other ad, which takes the user through to the advertiser's
Web site. Used as a counter point to impressions to judge the
response-inducing power of the banner.
ClickThrough Rate (CTR): The response
rate of an online advertisement, typically expressed as a percentage
and calculated by taking the number of clickthroughs the ad received,
dividing that number by the number of impressions and multiplying
by 100 to obtain a percentage:
Example: 20 clicks / 1,000 impressions = .02 x 100 = 2% CTR
CPC - Cost Per Click: The price paid
by an advertiser to a content site. When buying on a Cost Per
Click model, the advertiser and content site have mutually agreed
that the content site will continue to display the advertiser’s
ad creative until X number of clicks have been delivered - the
amount purchased. As with other forms of online advertising, is
dependent on content, audience reached and targeted delivery -
Untargeted being lower priced, targeted to an affluent audience
being at the high end of the rate scale.
CPM - Cost Per Thousand (Roman Numeral)
Impressions: The price paid by an advertiser for a content
site displaying their banner 1,000 times.
Cookies: Client-side text file that
is used by Web servers to store information about the site visitor
and visitor behavior. Information pertaining to a site can only
be read by the side that wrote the information. Used to identify
repeat visitors .
Click-through URL: When users click
on a banner or text link, the click-through URL is the new destination
to which they are directed.
Click Tracking: The process of counting
and auditing the clicks for a campaign. Click tracking can be
done by a different entity than that which serves the creative.
Cache: To store pages, images, or
other items, on a local server or user's computer to speed the
rate at which webpages load. Ads, like other images, are cached
unless some sort of cache-busting technique is used. When ads
are cached, they will be served but will not be counted by an
ad server. This can lead ad servers to under count the number
of times a page is viewed, and this can in turn skew monitoring
techniques.
Cache Busting: The process of blocking
the caching of certain files to guarantee new delivery from the
external server for each page view. Cache busting is necessary
for the successful execution on online advertising.
Campaign: A contracted agreement between
an advertiser or advertising agency and either a publisher or
a representative of a publisher. The campaign is specific to the
creative to be published and the issue, or duration of the publication.
Online advertising campaigns are defined by a number of variables,
including the digital creative, the duration or flight dates,
the pricing program, the publishers to be used and any user targeting
applied.
Category Targeting: The controlled
delivery of creative to categorized websites. Categories focus
a campaign to those users most likely to be interested in the
products or services being offered, thus increasing the effectiveness
of the campaign.
Commission: The percentage of the
advertising fee paid to the Publisher for hosting the creative
on their website Typical commissions range from 50 to 75 percent
E
Effective Frequency: The number of times an ad should be
shown to one person to realize the highest impact of the ad without
wasting impressions on that individual.
Even Delivery: The uniform distribution
of advertising creative across designated websites and over the
flight of the campaign given targeting parameters, if any. Reputable
ad serving systems have a variety of methods to maximize even
delivery.
Exclusive: A contract that forces
a Publisher to sell all specified inventory through a certain
channel for a specified period of time. Advertisers can also be
bound to purchase media only through a certain channel for a specified
period of time. e-zbanner does not use exclusive contracts
F
Frequency: The number of times a given
person will see an ad in a given time period.
G
Gross Exposures/Gross Impressions:
The total number of times an ad is shown, including duplicate
showings to the same person.
Geo-targeting: Serving of ads to a
particular geographical area or population segment
H
Hits: Every time a file is sent by
a server, be it text, graphic, video, and so on, it is recorded
as a hit. Not a reliable gauge to compare different sites, as
one page with five graphic elements will register six hits when
viewed, while a page with no graphics will only register one hit.
The sending of a single file from a web server to a user's computer.
Most webpages contain several files, including all HTML, graphics,
audio, etc. Hit is not the same as impression, page view, or number
of unique visitors. Information about hits is valuable to the
provider for server loading and bandwidth predictions, but used
alone, it is of little value as a metric of online advertising,
or online use in general.
I
Impression: The Opportunity To See (OTS) a banner or other
ad by a surfer. When a page that includes a banner is viewed,
it is considered an impression.
Inventory: The amount of available
space for banners on a Web site that can be delivered in a given
time period. Also known as the amount of gross impressions per
month (or clicks if the publishers is selling on a Cost Per Click
rate model) available for sale to advertisers by a Web publisher.
Interactive Agency: An advertising
agency, or division of an advertising agency dedicated to interactive
advertising, primarily published online.
Interactive Media: The online, Internet,
or web environment is the primary interactive media for advertising.
It is dubbed interactive because the user, or advertising target,
can typically interact with the content and advertising
IP address: Internet Protocal address.
Every system connected to the Internet has a unique IP address,
which consists of a number in the format A.B.C.D where each of
the four sections is a decimal number from 0 to 255. Most people
use Domain Names instead and the resolution between Domain Names
and IP addresses is handled by the network and the Domain Name
Servers. With virtual hosting, a single machine can act like multiple
machines (with multiple domain names and IP addresses
L
Link: A hypertext connection between
two documents, image maps, graphics, and the like.
M
Media Buyer / Media Planner: An individual
working directly for an advertiser, or for an advertising agency,
charged with the responsibility of purchasing advertising space.
An interactive media buyer makes online ad space purchases, sometimes
through an ad network
Mailing List
Online a mailing list is an automatically distributed email message
on a particular topics going to certain individuals. You can subscribe
or unsubscribe to a mailing list by sending a message via email.
There are many good professional mailing lists, and you should
find the ones that concern your business.
P
Pageview: When a Web page is requested
by somebody through a browser. Pageviews are often used to track
the number of impressions a banner gets.
Pop-Under: A window that pops (launches
automatically) behind the current browser window. Also known as
a pop-behind or go-behind .
Publisher: An individual or entity
selling online advertising space, including portal media planners,
Webmasters and other ad networks. Publisher, web publisher, Webmaster
and host are synonymous with respect to online advertising.
R
Run-of-network: A run-of-network ad
is one that is placed to run on all sites within a given network
of sites. Ad sales firms ,handle run-of-network insertion orders
in such a way as to optimize results for the buyer consistent
with higher priority ad commitments.
Run-of-site: A run-of-site ad is one
that is placed to rotate on all non-featured ad spaces on a site.
CPM rates for run-of-site ads are usually less than for rates
for specially-placed ads or sponsorships.
Rate Card: A presentation of the current
rates to buy and sell advertising space on an ad network.
Reach: A metric that estimates, for
a given reporting period, the Unique Visitors to a website or
network of websites, as a percentage of all Unique Visitors considered
accessible to that website or network of sites. Percent of the
audience "reached".
Redirect: The process of forwarding
a call for a creative to another server based on availability
and frequency capping, among other criteria.
Referral: A new member of the ad network
(either a publisher or advertiser) referred directly by a current
member through a button link or other means
Rich Media: A general term used to describe advances in
online creative that take advantage of enhanced sensory features
such as animation, audio and video. Rich media takes many different
digital file forms. The serving of rich media creative can require
more bandwidth and software modifications for older systems. Rich
media creative will become more useful as user bandwidth increases.
S
Stats: Data about the use of a website
or the effectiveness of an ad campaign. The depth and breadth
of stats is unlimited.
Stickiness: A performance metric based
on the ability of a website to hold a visitor's attention. A website's
stickiness is average duration per user session or per unique
visitor.
Surplus Inventory: Website ad space
available for purchase. Surplus inventory is often Remnant Space.
Server
Servers are the backbone of the internet, the computers that are
linked by communication lines and "serve up" information
in the form of text, graphics and multimedia to online computers
that request data -- that's you. (When a server "goes down"
it loses its online link and the information it holds can not
be accessed.)
Session
A series of transactions or hits made by a single user. If there
has been no activity for a period of time, followed by the resumption
of activity by the same user, a new session is considered started.
Thirty minutes is the most common time period used to measure
a session length.
T
Tag: HTML fragment that enables a
website to serve an impression.
Targeting: The control of the distribution
of ad creative to only those websites or those users that fit
within the particular targeting parameters. The depth and breadth
of potential targeting parameters is unlimited. Targeting has
the potential to dramatically improve the advertiser's ROI. Typical
targeting parameters are: local user time of day, website category,
user country, user age, etc.
Third Party Auditing: The use of an
"independent" serving authority to provide the definitive
accounting of the execution of an ad campaign. The campaign contract
is usually written so that the auditor's numbers are final, rather
than those of either the advertiser or publisher. Third party
auditing is sometimes performed by a separate enterprise than
third party serving, thus involving a total of four parties. If
third party remnant space or affiliates are involved, the total
number of entities involved in a single interactive advertising
event can be five or more.
Third Party Serving: The task of managing
the frequency capping, redirection and accounting of advertising
events between publishers and advertisers.
Tracking: The collection and automated
analysis of data associated with the serving of digital creative.
Tracking provides the frequency control, accounting, stats data
and anti-fraud components of a campaign.
Traffic: The volume of visitors to
a website. Traffic is the currency of online success, but is not
the only factor. Massive, low grade traffic to a website with
poor content will inevitably result in failure. To an ad network
Traffic Management is the ongoing effort to balance Publisher
inventory with booked campaigns
U
Unique visitor: A unique visitor is
someone with a unique address who is entering a Web site for the
first time that day (or some other specified period). Thus, a
visitor that returns within the same day is not counted twice.
A unique visitors count tells you how many different people there
are in your audience during the time period, but not how much
they used the site during the period.
V
View: A view is, depending on what’s
meant, either an ad view or a page view. Usually an ad view is
what’s meant. There can be multiple ad views per page views. View
counting should consider that a small percentage of users choose
to turn the graphics off (not display the images) in their browser.
Website Categories: System of grouping based on content or
demographic interests. These may include women’s interests, automotive,
and financial sites, etc
Visit: A visit is a Web user with a unique address entering
a Web site at some page for the first time that day (or for the
first time in a lesser time period). The number of visits is roughly
equivalent to the number of different people that visit a site.
This term is ambiguous unless the user defines it, since it could
mean a user session or it could mean a unique visitor that day.