|
Internet reklam
sözlüğü
A
Advertising Network:
A group of Web sites which share a common banner server. Typically
a sales organization which manages the commerce and reporting.
An ad network has the ability to deliver unique combinations
of targeted audiences because they serve your banner or ad
across multiple sites. The role of the modern Internet advertising
network is to transact, serve, track and report the distribution
of creative from advertisers to publishers using an efficient,
interactive marketplace.
Ad server:
Name for the organization, hardware, and software that deliver
advertising creative to the user’s browser. The ad server
typically is responsible for selecting the appropriate ad
to serve by frequency control and targeting. The ad server
also performs a variety of other administrative tasks including
the counting of impressions and clicks, and report generation.
Ad Space
The space on a webpage reserved to display advertising.
Agency:
An organization beholden with the responsibility to design,
produce and manage the advertising for its customers. Agencies
that handle digital creative and online campaigns are typical
called interactive agencies. Many agencies handle both interactive
and traditional media.
Ad view:
An ad view, synonymous with ad impression, is a single ad
that appears (usually in full view without scrolling) on a
Web page when the page arrives at the viewer’s display. Ad
views are what most Web sites sell or prefer to sell. A Web
page may offer space for a number of ad views. In general,
the term impression is more commonly used.
Affiliate marketing:
Affiliate marketing is the use by a Web site that sells products
of other Web sites, called affiliates, to help market the
products. Amazon.com, the book seller, created the first large-scale
affiliate program and hundreds of other companies have followed
since.
B
Bandwidth:
Digital throughput capacity. A measure of how much digital
signal or information can be passed through a device or interconnect.
Bandwidth is usually measured in bits per second. A 2400 baud
modem can handle 2.4 kilobits per second. A T3 industrial
interconnect can handle 45 megabits per second. A 100 base-T
ethernet interconnect can handle 100 mega-bits-per-second.
Bandwidth is analogous to the size of a water pipe.
Banner:
An interactive online advertisement in the form of a graphic
image that typically runs across the top or bottom of a webpage,
or is positioned in a margin or other space reserved for ads.
Banner ads are historically GIF images. Many ads are animated
GIFs since animation has been shown to be more effective.
The standard banner is 468 pixels wide by 60 pixels high.
The standard banner is still the mainstay of online advertising,
but is quickly giving up ground to newer, potentially more
effective forms of online advertising, such as email and interstitials.
Banner
Burnout:
Overexposure of advertising creative that contributes to a
drop in click-through rates. Frequency control reduces burnout
for a particular creative or campaign.
Booked
Space:
Website advertising space that is already sold or otherwise
unavailable to receive new campaign commitments.
Branding
A traditional advertising method used to elicit a latent response
from a target based on cumulative impressions and positive
reinforcement. The most successful brands are considered "trustmarks"
and enjoy loyal, lifelong customers.
C
Clickstreams: The electronic path a user takes while
navigating from site to site, and within site, from page to
page.
ClickThrough: The act of clicking on a banner or other
ad, which takes the user through to the advertiser's Web site.
Used as a counter point to impressions to judge the response-inducing
power of the banner.
ClickThrough Rate (CTR): The response rate of an online
advertisement, typically expressed as a percentage and calculated
by taking the number of clickthroughs the ad received, dividing
that number by the number of impressions and multiplying by
100 to obtain a percentage:
Example: 20 clicks / 1,000 impressions = .02 x 100 = 2% CTR
CPA - Cost Per Action: The price paid by an advertiser
for each 'action' that a content site delivers. 'Action' may
be a sale, a lead, a successful form fill-out, a download
of a software program or an e-commerce sale of a product.
Both the action, price and terms of a CPA purchase are mutally
agreed upon by the advertiser and content site and such a
purchase typically involves a back end tracking system provided
by the advertiser that allows the content site to view clicks
and actions every 24 hours if they choose to do so.
CPC - Cost Per Click: The price paid by an advertiser
to a content site. When buying on a Cost Per Click model,
the advertiser and content site have mutually agreed that
the content site will continue to display the advertiser’s
ad creative until X number of clicks have been delivered -
the amount purchased. As with other forms of online advertising,
is dependent on content, audience reached and targeted delivery
- Untargeted being lower priced, targeted to an affluent audience
being at the high end of the rate scale.
CPM - Cost Per Thousand (Roman Numeral) Impressions:
The price paid by an advertiser for a content site displaying
their banner 1,000 times.
CPS - Cost Per Sale: The price paid by an advertiser
to a content site for each sale that results from a visitor
who is referred from the content site to the advertiser’s
site. This type of buying model is typically tracked with
cookies, where the cookie is offered on the content site and
read on the advertiser’s site at the success page after successful
completion of one transaction/sale. Typical rates/bounties
range between 5% and 25% of the retail price of the product
or service being sold. See also CPA above.
Cookies: Client-side text file that is used by Web
servers to store information about the site visitor and visitor
behavior. Information pertaining to a site can only be read
by the side that wrote the information. Used to identify repeat
visitors .
Click-through
URL: When users click on a banner or text link, the click-through
URL is the new destination to which they are directed.
Click
Tracking: The process of counting and auditing the clicks
for a campaign. Click tracking can be done by a different
entity than that which serves the creative.
Cache:
To store pages, images, or other items, on a local server
or user's computer to speed the rate at which webpages load.
Ads, like other images, are cached unless some sort of cache-busting
technique is used. When ads are cached, they will be served
but will not be counted by an ad server. This can lead ad
servers to under count the number of times a page is viewed,
and this can in turn skew monitoring techniques.
Cache
Busting: The process of blocking the caching of certain
files to guarantee new delivery from the external server for
each page view. Cache busting is necessary for the successful
execution on online advertising.
Campaign:
A contracted agreement between an advertiser or advertising
agency and either a publisher or a representative of a publisher.
The campaign is specific to the creative to be published and
the issue, or duration of the publication. Online advertising
campaigns are defined by a number of variables, including
the digital creative, the duration or flight dates, the pricing
program, the publishers to be used and any user targeting
applied.
Category
Targeting: The controlled delivery of creative to categorized
websites. Categories focus a campaign to those users most
likely to be interested in the products or services being
offered, thus increasing the effectiveness of the campaign.
Commission:
The percentage of the advertising fee paid to the Publisher
for hosting the creative on their website Typical commissions
range from 50 to 75 percent
E
Effective Frequency: The number of times an ad should
be shown to one person to realize the highest impact of the
ad without wasting impressions on that individual.
Even Delivery:
The uniform distribution of advertising creative across designated
websites and over the flight of the campaign given targeting
parameters, if any. Reputable ad serving systems have a variety
of methods to maximize even delivery.
Exclusive:
A contract that forces a Publisher to sell all specified inventory
through a certain channel for a specified period of time.
Advertisers can also be bound to purchase media only through
a certain channel for a specified period of time.
F
Frequency: The number of times a given person will
see an ad in a given time period.
G
Gross Exposures/Gross Impressions: The total number of
times an ad is shown, including duplicate showings to the
same person.
Geo-targeting:
Serving of ads to a particular geographical area or population
segment
H
Hits: Every time a file is sent by a server, be it
text, graphic, video, and so on, it is recorded as a hit.
Not a reliable gauge to compare different sites, as one page
with five graphic elements will register six hits when viewed,
while a page with no graphics will only register one hit.
The sending of a single file from a web server to a user's
computer. Most webpages contain several files, including all
HTML, graphics, audio, etc. Hit is not the same as impression,
page view, or number of unique visitors. Information about
hits is valuable to the provider for server loading and bandwidth
predictions, but used alone, it is of little value as a metric
of online advertising, or online use in general.
I
Impression: The Opportunity To See (OTS) a banner or
other ad by a surfer. When a page that includes a banner is
viewed, it is considered an impression.
Inventory: The amount of available space for banners on
a Web site that can be delivered in a given time period. Also
known as the amount of gross impressions per month (or clicks
if the publishers is selling on a Cost Per Click rate model)
available for sale to advertisers by a Web publisher.
Interactive
Agency: An advertising agency, or division of an advertising
agency dedicated to interactive advertising, primarily published
online.
Interactive
Media: The online, Internet, or web environment is the
primary interactive media for advertising. It is dubbed interactive
because the user, or advertising target, can typically interact
with the content and advertising
IP address
Internet Protocal address. Every system connected to the Internet
has a unique IP address, which consists of a number in the
format A.B.C.D where each of the four sections is a decimal
number from 0 to 255. Most people use Domain Names instead
and the resolution between Domain Names and IP addresses is
handled by the network and the Domain Name Servers. With virtual
hosting, a single machine can act like multiple machines (with
multiple domain names and IP addresses
L
Link: A hypertext connection between two documents,
image maps, graphics, and the like.
M
Media
Buyer / Media Planner: An individual working directly
for an advertiser, or for an advertising agency, charged with
the responsibility of purchasing advertising space. An interactive
media buyer makes online ad space purchases, sometimes through
an ad network
Mailing
List
Online a mailing list is an automatically distributed email
message on a particular topics going to certain individuals.
You can subscribe or unsubscribe to a mailing list by sending
a message via email. There are many good professional mailing
lists, and you should find the ones that concern your business.
P
Pageview: When a Web page is requested by somebody
through a browser. Pageviews are often used to track the number
of impressions a banner gets.
Pop-Under:
A window that pops (launches automatically) behind the current
browser window. Also known as a pop-behind or go-behind
Publisher:
An individual or entity selling online advertising space,
including portal media planners, Webmasters and other ad networks.
Publisher, web publisher, Webmaster and host are synonymous
with respect to online advertising.
R
Run-of-network: A run-of-network ad is one that is
placed to run on all sites within a given network of sites.
Ad sales firms such as e-zbanner can handle run-of-network
insertion orders in such a way as to optimize results for
the buyer consistent with higher priority ad commitments.
Run-of-site: A run-of-site ad is one that is placed to
rotate on all non-featured ad spaces on a site. CPM rates
for run-of-site ads are usually less than for rates for specially-placed
ads or sponsorships.
Rate Card:
A presentation of the current rates to buy and sell advertising
space on an ad network.
Reach:
A metric that estimates, for a given reporting period, the
Unique Visitors to a website or network of websites, as a
percentage of all Unique Visitors considered accessible to
that website or network of sites. Percent of the audience
"reached".
Redirect:
The process of forwarding a call for a creative to another
server based on availability and frequency capping, among
other criteria.
Referral:
A new member of the ad network (either a publisher or advertiser)
referred directly by a current member through a button link
or other means
Rich Media:
A general term used to describe advances in online creative
that take advantage of enhanced sensory features such as animation,
audio and video. Rich media takes many different digital file
forms. The serving of rich media creative can require more
bandwidth and software modifications for older systems. Rich
media creative will become more useful as user bandwidth increases.
S
Stats: Data about the use of a website or the effectiveness
of an ad campaign. The depth and breadth of stats is unlimited.
Stickiness:
A performance metric based on the ability of a website to
hold a visitor's attention. A website's stickiness is average
duration per user session or per unique visitor.
Surplus
Inventory: Website ad space available for purchase. Surplus
inventory is often Remnant Space.
Server
Servers are the backbone of the internet, the computers that
are linked by communication lines and "serve up"
information in the form of text, graphics and multimedia to
online computers that request data -- that's you. (When a
server "goes down" it loses its online link and
the information it holds can not be accessed.)
Session
A series of transactions or hits made by a single user. If
there has been no activity for a period of time, followed
by the resumption of activity by the same user, a new session
is considered started. Thirty minutes is the most common time
period used to measure a session length.
T
Tag:
HTML fragment that enables a website to serve an impression.
Targeting:
The control of the distribution of ad creative to only those
websites or those users that fit within the particular targeting
parameters. The depth and breadth of potential targeting parameters
is unlimited. Targeting has the potential to dramatically
improve the advertiser's ROI. Typical targeting parameters
are: local user time of day, website category, user country,
user age, etc.
Third
Party Auditing: The use of an "independent"
serving authority to provide the definitive accounting of
the execution of an ad campaign. The campaign contract is
usually written so that the auditor's numbers are final, rather
than those of either the advertiser or publisher. Third party
auditing is sometimes performed by a separate enterprise than
third party serving, thus involving a total of four parties.
If third party remnant space or affiliates are involved, the
total number of entities involved in a single interactive
advertising event can be five or more.
Third
Party Serving: The task of managing the frequency capping,
redirection and accounting of advertising events between publishers
and advertisers.
Tracking:
The collection and automated analysis of data associated
with the serving of digital creative. Tracking provides the
frequency control, accounting, stats data and anti-fraud components
of a campaign.
Traffic:
The volume of visitors to a website. Traffic is the currency
of online success, but is not the only factor. Massive, low
grade traffic to a website with poor content will inevitably
result in failure. To an ad network Traffic Management is
the ongoing effort to balance Publisher inventory with booked
campaigns
U
Unique visitor: A unique visitor is someone with a
unique address who is entering a Web site for the first time
that day (or some other specified period). Thus, a visitor
that returns within the same day is not counted twice. A unique
visitors count tells you how many different people there are
in your audience during the time period, but not how much
they used the site during the period.
V
View: A view is, depending on what’s meant, either an
ad view or a page view. Usually an ad view is what’s meant.
There can be multiple ad views per page views. View counting
should consider that a small percentage of users choose to
turn the graphics off (not display the images) in their browser.
Website
Categories: System of grouping based on content or demographic
interests. These may include women’s interests, automotive,
and financial sites, etc
Visit: A visit is a Web user with a unique address
entering a Web site at some page for the first time that day
(or for the first time in a lesser time period). The number
of visits is roughly equivalent to the number of different
people that visit a site. This term is ambiguous unless the
user defines it, since it could mean a user session or it
could mean a unique visitor that day.
üste dönün
|